This video explains how you can use Microsoft Visio to create a floor plan to convert your garage or other areas of your house. The tutorial covers how to set outside walls and how to create windows and set the size, how to add doors and flip them in to the correct position. The video also explains how to create a layer and lock the contents of that layer. The search feature is explained and adding new shapes to your own stencil is also covered. Training at http://www.itseasy.co.uk Online courses at http://www.itseasytraining.co.uk

Floor Plan

This video explains how to use Microsoft Visio to plan a conversion in your house. The video shows how I used Microsoft Visio to plan for my own garage conversion and some of the mistakes I made. The number one error was not measuring the furniture and walls correctly. Because of my mistakes I was left with a wall with no door, and a section of the house with no lights.

The personal stencil

The video demonstrates the use of a personal stencil. I always recommend to my students that they should create a personal stencil that they can add shapes to, which in the end will speed up development of diagrams.

The stencils will be by diagram groups, for example a floor plan shape may not work in an organisational diagram, the scale may be too small to fit. I try to create a stencil for each diagram type I use. You can drag and drop shapes on to your stencil and then double click the icon to rename it. You must save the stencil and note where it is saved.